congrats to mY Guy – Barry Larkin (HALL OF FAMER)

I Love Players that play the WHOLE GAME! Baseball is missing these type of guyz.  My Guy Barry Larkin is the Epitome of those “WHOLE GAME” type of guyz. So im extremely excited to see such a deserving Man and stand-up ball player inducted into the Baseball HALL OF FAME!!!

Reblog-  In his third year on the ballot, Larkin received 86 percent of the vote Monday – nearly 20 percent more than second-place finisher Jack Morris – and easily surpassed the 75 percent required to be elected to Cooperstown. Larkin received 62.1 percent of the vote last year and 51.6 in 2010.

Larkin joins Johnny Bench and Bid McPhee as Hall of Famers who spent their entire career with Reds.

• Video: Larkin interviews
Barry Larkin quiz

Larkin wants to include his hometown in his big moment.

“It’s something to celebrate,” Larkin said. “All I think about is how in the world am I going to be able to celebrate this with Reds fans? Because this, in my opinion, is something huge. I so want to celebrate this with them. I hope I represent the city well when I make my speech. I’ve tried to represent the city well as a player and in my post-playing career.

“I look at this as a chance to interact with the people of Cincinnati. We’ve got to do something big in celebration of this. This is absolutely off the charts. Yes, as a player I went out and got it done. But it was people in the Reds organization. Marge Schott, Carl Lindner. The front office folks. Jim Bowden, the general managers. Pete (Rose), Tony (Perez), Eric Davis. The players. The relationships. Rob Butcher, the PR people, everyone. This is absolutely awesome

In his third year on the ballot, Larkin received 86 percent of the vote Monday – nearly 20 percent more than second-place finisher Jack Morris – and easily surpassed the 75 percent required to be elected to Cooperstown. Larkin received 62.1 percent of the vote last year and 51.6 in 2010.

Larkin joins Johnny Bench and Bid McPhee as Hall of Famers who spent their entire career with Reds.

Larkin grew up in Silverton, played high school ball at Moeller and played all 19 years of his career for the Reds. He becomes the first native-born Cincinnatian to be elected to the Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. He is only the third Cin

cinnati-born player to make the Hall. The other two – Jim Bunning and Buck Ewing – were voted in by the Veterans Committee.

Larkin made his major debut in 1986. He was the full-time starting shortstop by 1987, taking over for one of his boyhood idols, Dave Concepcion. Larkin made his first All-Star team the following year.

Larkin hit .295 with a .371 on-base average and a .444 slugging percentage for for his career.Larkin made 12 All-Star teams, won nine Silver Slugger awards (as the best hitter at his position in the National League in a given year), helped lead the Reds to a World Championship in 1990, won a Most Valuable Player award (1995) and was the first shortstop to make the 30-30 club, hitting 33 home runs and stealing 36 bases in 1996.

Larkin will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on July 22. Ron Santo also will be inducted posthumously.

.

The Reds thought so much of Barry they drafted him twice. The Reds took him in the second round in 1982. He turned down a $50,000 signing bonus to attend the University of Michigan. He earned All-American honors there.

The Reds picked him again in 1985 – this time with the fourth pick overall – despite having used their top pick on shortstop Kurt Stillwell in 1983.

Larkin was gracious and thankful on the big day.

“I’ve been product of a lot of great people,” Larkin said. “It started with Mom and Dad. My dad getting me started in sports. My mother driving home: You better do right or else. The right way to respect folks and respect the game. The importance of education. I went back to Michigan and finished up my degree because I told my grandmother I’d do that and my mother made sure I did it. It starts with them in Silverton. It started with the environment where I was protected and could be the best I could be.

“Them sending me to Moeller High School. Once again, re-enforcing those fundamentals that I learned as a young boy at home. Some of the coaches, Mike Cameron, Gerry Faust, Ted Bacigalupo.

“Then on to the University of Michigan. The reason I decided to go to Michigan was the relationships with the people. I was on a football scholarship with Bo Schembechler. Bud Middaugh. Great people – alums, boosters.

“Bo allowed me to play baseball only for the first time in my life. I got a lot better. I decided I was going to pursue baseball.

“Then I got drafted by the Reds. I went to Burlington, Vermont. Jack Lind was my manager. He was another guy who talked to me about the fundamentals of the game. I get to Cincinnati, Pete Rose talks to me about the fundamentals, the work ethic, playing hard, hustle. Dave Concepcion, Tony Perez, Buddy Bell. Buddy taking me to Dodger Stadium and making me smell the grass. He taught me to keep things in perspective.

“Eric Davis. My rookie year, he didn’t even really know me but inviting me out to California and to stay at his house with his family to show me how it’s done.

“I have been so blessed. I’ve been in so many situations with such good people. People who care. People who have given of themselves to make sure I was taken care of.

Larkin will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on July 22. Ron Santo also will be inducted posthumously.

“I haven’t thought about what I’m going to say,” Larkin said. “I haven’t thought about who’s going to be up there. I talked to my brother today. He said, ‘Who are you going to have introduce you?’ I said, ‘Why, are you telling me something?’

“I haven’t thought about about it. I thought this was a possibility. . . Now I can do that.”

Written by
John Fay
About The Gritz

Ideally I aspire to be a Tyranny of Business and perspective. I cant tell you descriptively how I feel... so I'll tell you the depths of my thought. thanks for reading. https://thegritz.wordpress.com

Posted on 01/18/2012, in San bernardino County, Sportz. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Hey I'd love to hear you feedback... leave a comment

