“Kaine.. do you care whether you live or die?”

image

My favorite movie I ever watched was Menace II Society.  I remember my popz taking me to see the movie in theatre when I was about 11.  The fact that he took me only added to the sentiment.

I was way too young to appreciate the powerful message and the relevance in a movie like that but I did.

I absolutely comprehened the messages and completely identified myself with Kaine the main character.  I felt as if I was watching an unfolding version of my own young life’s future. When kids my age where fond of Ace Ventura and watching Goosebumps series– Menace II Society became and remained my favorite movie.

To this present day still I watch the movie and it resonates the same personal connections, identifications, and internal questions It did when I was 11.

I’ve never watched a movie that provoked more thought and personal inquiry of myself than this 1990’s Hughes Brothers film.

One of the questions the film asked  that struck me hard and has stuck with me throughout my life was asked of Kaine by his grandfather.

“Kaine… do you care whether you live or die…?”

I believe this question was intended for all young black men whom have watched this movie to answer but since my first time watching this movie at 11 years old I took it as question personally directed at myself.

“Mark… Do you care whether you live or die…? ”

Everytime Ive asked myself this question I feel as unprepared and blindsided as my nigga Kaine was when his gpops asked him.

‘Kaine (Mark)… Do you care whether you live or die…?”

Everytime I’ve asked myself that question I’ve come up with the same answer as Kaine gave as truthfully as his troubled heart and mind could respond….

“I don’t know.”

Gritz

image

About The Gritz

Ideally I aspire to be a Tyranny of Business and perspective. I cant tell you descriptively how I feel... so I'll tell you the depths of my thought. thanks for reading. https://thegritz.wordpress.com

Posted on 08/10/2013, in A Grey Perspective, The Gritz and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Hey I'd love to hear you feedback... leave a comment

